History at Cabarrus College of Health Sciences

February 2, 1942: Sixteen students enter the new nursing school.

1940s - 50s: Dormitory, recreation, auditorium and classroom space expansion to accommodate enrollment growth.

1963: National League for Nursing (NLN) awards accreditation to the school.

1973: Curriculum revision shortens program to two years; North Carolina Board of Nursing approves the school as the first two-year, hospital-based nursing diploma program in North Carolina.

1988: Nursing diploma program transformed to meet the standards for Associate Degree in Nursing.

1992: Officially renamed as the Louise Harkey School of Nursing to mark the school’s 50th anniversary and to honor its founder.

1996: The Louise Harkey School of Nursing becomes the cornerstone of the new Cabarrus College of Health Sciences, renamed in preparation for launching new allied health programs.

1997 - 2003: Medical Assistant, Surgical Technology, Nurse Aide, Occupational Therapy Assistant and Associate of Science programs added, along with Bachelor of Science degrees in Nursing (BSN) and Health Sciences Leadership and Management.

2004: The College partners with the NorthEast Foundation and the community to fund and build present facility on the campus of Atrium Health Cabarrus (formerly Northeast Medical Center/Carolinas HealthCare System NorthEast).

2005 - 2013: Additional programs added including Pharmacy Technology, certificate programs in Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Bachelor of Science degrees in Medical Imaging and Interdisciplinary Health Studies, and an online RN to BSN. The college also opened its simulation learning laboratory.

2014: First master’s degree (Occupational Therapy) program added.

2020: The college adds a second master's degree, a Master of Science in Nursing.

2022: Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences Leadership and Development program added along with four-year Bachelor of Science degrees in Biomedical Sciences and Community Health and Wellness. Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Therapy, four-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing begin enrolling for fall 2023.